Weekly Newsletter (September 24-28)

0

Posted by MrLynch | Posted in Weekly Newsletter | Posted on September 23, 2012

Keeping up the September trend, this will be a shortened week – a four-dayer. There will not be school on Wednesday for Yom Kippur. There will not be any homework on Tuesday night.

I will be taking a small group of students to the More Than Money Fifth Grade conference on October 26, run by Junior Achievement. It takes place at Aetna and I have been taking a group of students to this for the past few years. I am taking students from a few other classes as well so I can only take eight students from our class. (A sub will be with the rest of the class in school.) Students start the day by hearing from a guest speaker and then break up into smaller groups where they will learn about saving, spending, and other relevant economics. The way I select the eight students is by having interested students write me a letter explaining why they deserve to go. The conference is free and lunch is provided, but there is a charge of $5 to pay for the bus.

The Egg Drop will take place on Friday, October 5. We have been discussing this in school and going over materials that would work well. However, I don’t really care what students use to protect the eggs because my goal is to smash each and every egg as I drop them from the roof. As far as I’m concerned, they could use a single piece of tissue. It would certainly make my job easier. My guess though – students won’t let me succeed easily. Click here for the packet that students received –  Egg Drop 2012.

Upcoming Events

Egg Drop – Friday, October 5, 2012

Sturbridge Village – Friday, October 19, 2012

More Than Money Conference (8 students) – Friday, October 26, 2012

Parent/Teacher Conferences – Monday, December 10 and Tuesday, December 11

Write a comment

Skip to toolbar