Weekly Newsletter (September 10-13)

0

Posted by MrLynch | Posted in Weekly Newsletter | Posted on September 7, 2013

It was great seeing so many of you at Open House last week. If you have any additional questions for me do not hesitate to ask. The first week of school we did two-days, the second week we did three-days, and this week we’ll give it the ole’ four-day attempt. On Thursday, September 5 I sent out a test e-mail to all parents using an e-mail database I created. If you did not receive this e-mail (and want to be added to this list) please let me know.

On Thursday, September 19 I will be taking students on a Bike Ride to School (before school) from the Avon Free Public Library. This is optional, but as of this writing a little over half the class will be participating. I would love some parents or siblings (18 and over) to come along that morning. Please let me know if you can join us. The ride is mostly flat and easy.

A permission slip for Winding Trails went home last week. All students at Thompson Brook go to Winding Trails in the fall for a low ropes course and team-building activities. I will be sending out an e-mail soon asking for a couple of volunteers.

Last week I introduced students to the Egg Drop. They were given about three and a half weeks to work on this project and a detailed packed was given to each student, too. We’ll discuss this more in school this week. On Friday, September 27 I will be dropping the eggs off the roof of Thompson Brook School to await their fate on the hard ground below. Parents/Guardians/Children (not in school) are all welcome to come watch the festivities.

a_aaa-Cool-bike-Mike

Upcoming Events

Bike Ride to School – Thursday, September 19 (7 AM) OPTIONAL

Winding Trails – Friday, September 20

Egg Drop – Friday, September 27

Sturbridge Village – Friday, October 25

Parent/Teacher Conferences – Thursday, December 5 and Friday, December 6

Write a comment

Skip to toolbar